

## State Health Coordinating Council Meeting Minutes - DRAFT Wednesday, March 5, 2025 Greg Poole, Jr. All Faiths Chapel, Dorothea Dix 1030 Richardson Drive, Raleigh, NC

Committee Members Present: Dr. Sandra Greene – SHCC Chair, (ex officio, non-voting), Dr. Mary Braithwaite, Ms. Kelli Collins, Representative Carla Cunningham, Dr. Vanessa Ervin, Dr. Charul Haugan, Mr. Franklin Gomez-Flores, Ms. Valarie Jarvis, Mr. Cooper Linton, Mr. James Martin, Jr., Dr. Satish Mathan, Ms. Denise Mihal, Dr. Pamela Oliver, Dr. Sachin Patel, Mr. Timothy Rogers, Dr. Jessie Tucker, Mr. John Young

Committee Members Absent: Mr. William Floyd, Senator Micheal Garrett, Ms. Quintana Stewart, Dr. Toni Stewart, Mr. Mark Werner

**DHSR Healthcare Planning Staff Present**: Ms. Elizabeth Brown, Ms. Lauren Barton, Dr. Amy Craddock, Dr. Andrea Emanuel, Ms. Nirali Patel, Ms. Kimberly Torres

Other DHSR Staff Present: Ms. Cynthia Bradford, Ms. Gloria Hale, Ms. Yolanda Jackson, Ms. Crystal Kearney, Mr. Mike McKillip, Ms. Micheala Mitchell, Ms. Lisa Pittman, Ms. Tanya Saporito, Ms. Chalice Moore

Attorney General's Office Representative(s) Present: Ashley Council, Ms. Julie Faenza, Mr. Derek Hunter, Ms. Farrah Raja

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motions	Recommendations/ Actions
Welcome & Announcements; Introductions of SHCC Members and Division Staff	Dr. Greene welcomed Council members, staff, and visitors to the first State Health Coordinating Council (SHCC) meeting of 2025. She acknowledged that the business meeting was open to the public but was not a public hearing and discussion would be limited to Council members and staff.		
	She welcomed the new members of the Council and asked all Council members to introduce themselves by stating their name, affiliation, and SHCC appointment type. She noted that six members whose appointments expired on December 31, 2024 were re-appointed by the Governor. They are Mr. James Martin, Dr. Satish Mathan, Dr. Pam Oliver, Mr. Tim Rogers, Ms. Kelli Collins and Dr. Charul Haugan. Dr. Greene also shared that Dr. Robert McBride has resigned from the board. Next, staff introduced themselves.		
Review of Executive Order No. 46 Reauthorizing the SHCC and Executive Order No. 331 Extending the SHCC	Dr. Greene gave an overview of the procedures to observe before taking action during the meeting. She inquired whether anyone had a conflict or needed to declare that they would derive a benefit from any matter on the agenda or intended to recuse themselves from voting on any matter. She asked members to declare conflicts as agenda items came up.		
Overview of Ethical Standards	Special Deputy Attorney General Derek Hunter discussed ethical standards with council members.		

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motions	Recommendations/ Actions
Approval of Minutes for October 2, 2024 Meeting	A motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes of the October 2, 2024 meeting.	Haugan Rogers	Motion approved
<b>Committee Assignments</b>	Dr. Greene announced the membership of the three standing committees.		
	Acute Care Services Committee: Dr. Mary Braithwaite; Mr. Brian Floyd; Dr. Charul Haugan (Vice Chair); Ms. Denise Mihal; Dr. Sachin Patel; Dr. Jessie Tucker; Mr. John Young (Chair)		
	Long-Term and Behavioral Health Committee: Representative Carla Cunningham; Dr. Vanessa Ervin; Senator Michael Garrett; Ms. Valarie Jarvis (Chair); Mr. Cooper Linton (Vice Chair); Mr. Jim Martin; Mr. Tim Rogers; Ms. Quintana Stewart		
	Technology and Equipment Committee: Ms. Kelli Collins (Vice Chair); Mr. Franklin Gomez Flores; Dr. Satish Mathan (Chair); Dr. Pam Oliver; Dr. Toni Stewart; Mr. Mark Werner		
Operating Room (OR) Methodology Workgroup Update	Ms. Micheala Mitchell read the newly enacted provisions related to qualified urban ambulatory facilities in Session Law 2023-7. Mr. John Young then informed the Council that the Operating Room (OR) workgroup convened three meetings to formulate a recommendation to the SHCC regarding the OR methodology in light of the changes in the law. He then described the process the Acute Care Services Committee will follow in deliberating on the workgroup recommendation, accepting public comment and making a recommendation to the full SHCC for its consideration in the development of the 2026 SMFP.		
Contiguous Counties	Dr. Andrea Emanuel provided an overview of the Agency's recommendation to update <i>Appendix B: Listing of Contiguous Counties</i> in the SMFP by revising the definition of contiguous counties so that listings for each base county include counties <45 driving miles away and no other county in between. Changing the definition would mean that the listings for Washington and Chowan counties would be updated to be contiguous to each other.	Young Rogers	Motion approved
Other Business	Ms. Micheala Mitchell provided an overview of the changes in Agency administration.  Dr. Greene reminded SHCC members to complete required documents, including employment forms necessary for members of boards, councils, and commissions.		
Recess Business Meeting	Dr. Greene called for a motion to recess the business meeting to convene the public hearing.	Mathan Linton	Motion approved
Adjournment	After the public hearing, Dr. Greene re-convened the business meeting. There being no further business, Dr. Greene called for a motion to adjourn.	Mathan Rogers	Motion approved